MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE ZION CITY COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY, JUNE 12, 2008, AT 1:16 P.M. IN THE CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CITY HALL, ZION, ILLINOIS

Mayor Harrison called the meeting to order.

On call of the roll the following answered present: Commissioners Taylor, Flammini, DeTienne, Bennett and Mayor Harrison.

CLOSED SESSION

It was moved by Commissioner Bennett, seconded by Commissioner Taylor that the Council recess to Closed Session at 1:16 p.m. to discuss the purchase and sale of real estate and personnel. The vote on roll call was: Commissioners Taylor, aye; Flammini, aye; DeTienne, aye; Bennett, aye; and Mayor Harrison, aye. Motion carried.

It was moved by Commissioner DeTienne, seconded by Commissioner Taylor to reconvene the Special Council meeting at 6:15 p.m. with all members present. The vote on roll call was: Commissioners Taylor, aye; Flammini, aye; DeTienne, aye; Bennett, aye; and Mayor Harrison, aye. Motion carried.

BUDGET-FISCAL YEAR 2008/09

Mayor Harrison stated the Council had a lengthy discussion regarding the Fiscal Year 2008/09 Budget with proposed amendments still to be made to this document.

It was moved by Commissioner DeTienne, seconded by Commissioner Taylor to further amend the proposed Budget for Fiscal Year 2008/09, and to take final action at the July 1 Council meeting. The vote on roll call was: Commissioners Taylor, aye; Flammini, aye; DeTienne, aye; Bennett, aye; and Mayor Harrison, aye. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT OF CITY OFFICIALS AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

It was moved by Commissioner Flammini, seconded by Commissioner DeTienne to appoint Department Heads and City Officials for May 1, 2008 through April 30, 2009 as follows:

Law Firm of Ancel, Glink Diamond, Bush, DiCianni & Krafthefer – City & Prosecuting Attorneys Judy Mackey – City Clerk Larry Booth – Police Chief David LaBelle –Fire/Rescue Chief & ESDA Coordinator Delaine Rogers – Director of Economic Development Ron Colangelo – Director of Public Works & Engineering John Jones – Director of Building and Zoning & Health and Safety Officer Larry Pannell – Director of Finance

John Schultz – ESDA Field Director Jim Rissell – ESDA Assistant Field Director Rachel Fisher – Treasurer

The vote on roll call was: Commissioners Taylor, aye; Flammini, aye; DeTienne, aye; Bennett, nay; and Mayor Harrison, aye. Motion carried.

NON-UNION EMPLOYEE SALARIES

It was moved by Commissioner Taylor, seconded by Commissioner DeTienne to approve 2.5% salary increases effective May 1, 2008 for all management, mid-management and all other non-union, full-time employees. The vote on roll call was: Commissioners Taylor, aye; Flammini, aye; DeTienne, aye; Bennett, nay; and Mayor Harrison, aye. Motion carried.

ADJOURN

There being no further business to come before the Council at this time, it was moved by Commissioner Flammini, seconded by Commissioner Bennett and unanimously approved the meeting be adjourned at 6:40 p.m. Motion carried.

City Clerk

Approved July 1, 2008